PHF names squad for Asian Champions Trophy

Sunday, 13 October 2013 22:18

Pakistan senior hockey coach Tahir Zaman has announced the names of 20 players for the upcoming back-to-back international tournaments in Australia and Japan. While nine-a-side tournament will be held in Perth, Australia, from October 17 to 20, Kakamigahara, Japan will host the third Asian Champions Trophy from November 2 to 10. Tahir said that among the 20 players, four players namely Rashid Mahmood, Rizwan Senior, Haseem Khan and Fareed Ahmad would be considered only for the Asian Champions Trophy, subject to their availability, form and fitness. While rest of 16-member team, he added, would go to Australia to take part in the nine-a-side International Super series.

He announced the names of the players, during the training session at the Johar Town Stadium here the other day. He added the best team for the nine-a-side team was selected and hopefully it would give better results. He said Pakistan would play the Asian event as defending champions and a strong team would be finalised for it to retain the title. Tahir said he took the charge just one month back when the team was going to compete in the Asia Cup under must-win situation. He expressed hope that a strong team would be finalised in near future.


For nine-a-side:

Imran Shah, Imran Butt, M Imran, Khalid Bhatti, Kashif Shah, Aamir Shahzad, Rizwan Junior, M Tousique, Faisal Qadir, Sulman Hussain, Shafqat Rasool, Dilber Hussain, Umer Bhutta, Arsalan Qadir, Suleman, and Hammad Butt.

For Asian Champions Trophy:

Rashid Mahmood, Rizwan Senior, Haseem Khan, and Fareed Ahmad will be considered.

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Read 1392 times

Upcoming Hockey Events

No events

Our Hockey Network